Microprocessor Timing

Microprocessor Timing
fetch cycle
The first byte of an instruction is
the opcode. An instruction may be
more than one byte long. the other
bytes are data or operand address.
the program counter keeps the address
of the next instruction to executed.
in the beginning of the fetch cycle
where opcode is available is send
to the memory.
the memory place the opcode on the
data bus , so as to transfer it to CPU.
the entire operation of fetching an opcode takes
three clock cycles.. A slow memory make take more time
the clock cycle for which the CPU waits is called
wait cycle. most the CPU have been designed to
introduced wait cycle to cope with slow memories.
Execute Cycle
The opcode fetched from the memory
goes to the data register (Dr) and the the
Instruction register ( Ir)
from the instruction register it
goes to the decoder circuitry which
decodes the instruction. the decodor
circuitry is within the micro processsor.
Soon after the instruction is
decoded execution begins. If the
operand is in the general purpose
register execution is immediately performed.
the time taken in decoding and execution
is one clock cycle.
Suppose if the data or operand are
still in the memory. The CPU has to perform
some read operation to get the desired data.
after receving the data it perform execution.
the read cycle is similar to the fetch cycle
In case of a read cycle , the quantity received
are in the form of data or operand instead of an
In some operation write cycle is performed.
In the write cycle date is sent from the CPU to
Thus we see that an execute cycle
consist of an read or write cycle
Instruction Cycle
An instruction is a command given
to the computer to perform a specified
operation on a given data
The CPU fetches the instruction
stored at memory and executes it one by one.
To produce the final result.
the necessary steps that an CPU takes
to fetch data and instruction from
the memory and executes constitute an
instruction cycle.
We come to the point that the
instruction cycle consist of a fetch and
execute cycle.
in the fetch cycle the CPU fetches an
opcode from the memory and the
steps to fetch an opcode constitute a
fetch cycle.
the necessary steps which are
carried out to get data from the
memory and perform the operation
specified in the instruction constitute an
execute cycle.
Machine Cycle
the necessary steps carried out to perform
fetch, a read or write operation constitute a
machine cycle.
An instruction consist of several machine cycle
The opcode of an instruction
is fetched in the first machine cycle
of an instruction cycle
Most of the single byte instruction requires only
one machine cycle to fetch the opcode and execute the
Two byte and three byte instruction require
more than one machine cycle.
additional m/c cycle are required
to read or write data into memory or
I/o devices.
Memory mapped I/O
In memory mapped i/o there is only
one address space.
Address space is defined as
the set of all addresses that
a micro processor can generate.
some address is assingned to
the memories while some to i/o
I/O devices is also termed
as the memory location and one
address is assigned to it
The address for I/O devices are different
from the address which have been assigned
to memories.
the memory address which have
not been assigned to memories can
be assigned to I/O device.
For eg 2500, 2501, 2502,
In this scheme all the data transfer
instruction of the microprocessor
can be used for memory as well as I/O devices
I/O mapped I/O scheme
in this scheme the address
assiged to the memory location
can also be assigned to the I/O
In other word same address
may be assigned
the microprocessor must issue a
signal to distinguish whether the
address on the address bus for
memory or an I/o device.
the intel 8085 issues an IO/m signal
for this purpose
When the signal is high on the
address bus , it is for I/O devices.
When the address is low then it is for
memory location
IN and OUT instruction are used for I?O devices
IN instruction is used to read the data
of an input device while the OUT instruction
is used to send data to output devices
The interupt of 8085
The Intel 8085 has five interupts namely
TRAP,RST 7.5, RST 6.5, RST 5.5 and INTR.
the TRAP has the highest priority while
the INTR has the lowest.
When interprets are used they are
enabled by the software using the
instruction EI (enable interupt) in the
main program
The instruction EI enables all the
interupts while the instruction DI
is used to disable interupts
In certain situation it may be
desired to prevent the occurence of
interupts while a particular task is being
performed by the microprocessor. This
can be done with the help of DI instruction.
The DI instruction resets the interupt enable
flipflop and disable all the interupts except
non-maskable interupt TRAP.
When the interupt goes high the processor
complets it current instruction and saves the
program counter on stack.
It also resets the interupt enable
flip flop before taking up ISS so that
the occurence of further interupts is
prevented before execution of ISS.
56 1